Setting up Program Access:
Congratulations! You've officially reached the halfway point of your registration setup. The next step in the process is to review and create any program access rules to ensure those who should be able to access the program can do so.
To get started, click on the Program Access link from your Registration () page:
Once you head over to the Program Access tab you will first notice four key metrics that serve as an important check for your access settings:
- Mentors who can join
- Mentees who can join
- Users that can't join
- Whether users not in the advanced access table can register or not
These four metrics will be updated each time you make a change to your access settings so you can better understand how many users can (or cannot) register for your program given your current settings.
There are two options for configuring how users can register for your program: Organization-Wide Access, and Advanced Access:
- Organization-Wide Access: This type of access is the default for most programs. With this type of access, anyone who can sign into Together will be able to access your program.
- Advanced Access Settings: This type of access enables you to allow only specific users to register for your program.
Under Advanced Access Settings, we have two different ways you can provide user(s) access that we will dive deeper into below:
- Set Access with a Rule
- Set Access by User
Set Access with a Rule:
This method allows you to configure the eligibility of users based on a number of key fields. Keep in mind, that the ability to access these fields is dependent on having them included via a CSV upload of your users or from an HRIS integration.
By default, both Mentors and Mentees are eligible to register for the program unless stated otherwise. If you would like to have only specific Mentors and/or Mentees eligible, you may click on the Ineligible by Default option. This will ensure that all new Mentors/Mentees will not be able to register for the program unless they meet all of your Exception Rules.
Once you have selected Ineligible by Default, you can add Exception Rules by clicking on the pencil icon () beside each user role (i.e. mentee or mentor):
On this next screen, you will be able to set each of the criteria that a mentor/mentee must satisfy in order to register/access the program. To add your first rule, click Add Exception Rule:
You will be able to select the criteria to determine eligibility for users. For example, maybe we only want mentors from a specific Department, such as Sales. The options that you will see here are dependent on the data provided to us from your HRIS system. In our case, I would select the value "Department Name", and set that it must be equal to the "Sales" department.
You may add multiple exception rules for each role. Once you have finished adding all of your exception rules, be sure to click the Save button:
After you save your rules, you will see them listed under the respective role that they impact:
You will also notice our four metrics at the top of the page have been updated to reflect our new access settings. We can see:
- 656 users will not be able to register (i.e. they are not in the Sales department)
- 209 mentors will be able to join
- 209 mentees will be able to join
- Users not in the table at the bottom of the page will not be able to register in the program for either role (i.e. access is restricted to a specific group, namely those in the Sales department).
If you're happy with these access settings, you may click the Save and Exit button at the bottom of the screen now! If you are interested in setting access at a more granular level, you may move to the Set Access by User section below.
Set Access by User:
Under the Set Access with a rule section on this page is a table where you can change access on a per-user basis:
Here you can view users across two dimensions:
- All Users: This will display all of your users within your organization.
- Users with Access: Here you will only see users who will have access to the program based on the rules you have currently set and the individual users you have assigned access to.
- Note, that if you have created exception rules under the Set Access with a Rule section, this list of users will only display the users who are eligible given those rules you have created.
- Users who have already registered for your program will also be included in this list as well.
- In my case, since I set a rule to only include those in the Sales Department, I would only see my currently registered users in the program plus all users in the Sales Department.
In this table, you will see a few key pieces of information on each of your users, such as:
- Registration Status: whether a user has already registered for your program.
- Access as Mentor/Mentee: whether a user can access the program as a mentor and/or mentee
- Admin Override: whether a user's eligibility has been modified manually. For example, if you had a department exception rule set, but you wanted one specific user not in that department to have access to the program as a mentor, mentee, or both. You could set their eligibility here in the table and this column would note this change.
To set access for each user, you can search for their name within the search bar. Then, scroll over to the Set Access column in the table, click Set Eligibility, and choose the type of access they should have:
For each user, you will have 5 different options to select from:
- Make eligible as a mentee only
- Make eligible as a mentor only
- Make eligible as both a mentor and mentee
- Make ineligible
- or, to Reset their eligibility back to the default eligibility rules
If you need to set eligibility for multiple users, you can select each of them by clicking on the box beside their name in the table:
Once you have selected each of your users, you will see a Perform Bulk Action on Selected button above the table. Click this button to assign the same access to all of your selected users. In my case, I will provide Mentee Only access to these three users:
After you have assigned access to these users, you will see this reflected in the table:
And that's it! You have successfully configured your Advanced Access Settings for your program. Only those who have access to the program as defined by these settings will be able to see and register for the program when they sign into Together.
Once you're satisfied with your Advanced Access Settings, head back to the Registration () page to check off this step!
To continue building your Evergreen program, head over to Step 7 - Check Your Integrations
Have more questions? Submit a request here and let us know how we can help!