Program Access - Advanced Access Settings

Article author
Keagan McMahon
  • Updated

Looking to curate who can register for your mentorship program? Sometimes it can be helpful to restrict access to specific programs depending on the purpose of the program or the group of users that will be participating. For example, you might want to run a High-Potential (HiPo) Mentorship Program but may only want a specific set of users to be able to register. With our improved Advanced Access settings, this is now possible! 

Getting started on setting up Advanced Access is a simple step worked into the Registration Setup when building out your program. For more information on the Registration Setup, check out our Registration section here! 

First, we must begin by navigating to our Registration Setup within the program. To do so, click on the program from your Homepage then click either on the Registration Setup button or the Edit Registration Setup button:

Enter_registration_setup.png

Once you have found the Registration Setup, click the Plan Registration tab along the left-hand side of the page. 

click_plan_registration.png

Under this tab, click the Program Access option:

click_program_access.png

Here you will see two different options for determining Program Access:

  • Organization-Wide Access: this type of access is the default for most programs. With this type of access, anyone who can sign into Together will be able to access your program. 
  • Advanced Access Settings: this type of access enables you to allow only specific users to register for your program. 

Under Advanced Access Settings, we have two different ways you can provision access that we will dive deeper into below:

  1. Set Access with a Rule
  2. Set Access by User

Set Access with a Rule:

This method allows you to configure the eligibility of users based on a number of key fields. Keep in mind, the ability to access these fields is dependent on having your company HRIS integrated with Together. 

By default, both Mentors and Mentees are eligible to register for the program unless stated otherwise. If you would like to have only specific Mentors and/or Mentees eligible, you may click on the Ineligible by Default option. This will ensure that all new Mentors/Mentees will not be able to register for the program, unless they meet all of your Exception Rules

Once you have selected Ineligible by Default, you can add Exception Rules by clicking on the pencil icon beside each user role (i.e. mentee or mentor):

menteementor_ineligible_by_default.png

On this next screen, you will be able to set each of the criteria that a mentor/mentee must satisfy in order to register/access the program. To add your first rule, click Add Exception Rule:

add_exception_rule.png

You will be able to select the criteria to determine the eligibility for users. For example, maybe we only want mentors from a specific Department, such as Sales. The options that you will see here are dependent on the data provided to us from your HRIS system. In our case, I would select the value "Department Name", and set that it must be equal to "Sales" department.

department_access_rule.png

You may add multiple exception rules for each role. Once you have finished adding all of your exception rules, be sure to click the Save button:

save_rule.png

After you save your rules, you will see them listed under the respective role that they impact:

saved_rules_for_each.png

If you're happy with these access settings, you may click the Save and Exit button at the bottom of the screen now! If you are interested in setting access at a more granular level, you may move onto the Set Access by User section below.

Set Access by User:

In this section you can view users across two dimensions: 

  • All Users: here you can see all users within your organization
  • Users with Access: here you will only see users who will have access to the program based on the rules you have currently set and the individual users you have assigned access to.
    • Note, that if you have created exception rules under the Set Access with a Rule section, this list of users will only display the users who are eligible given those rules you have created. Users who have already registered for your program will also be included within this list as well. In my case, since I set a rule to only include those in the Sales Department, I would only see my currently registered users in the program and those in the Sales Department.

For demonstration, I will remove my exception rule that I created earlier. In this table, you will see a few key pieces of information on each of your users, such as:

  • Registration Status: whether a user has already registered for your program
  • Access as Mentor/Mentee: whether a user can access the program as a mentor and/or mentee
  • Admin Override: whether a user's eligibility has been modified manually. For example, if you had a department exception rule set, but you wanted one specific user not in that department to have access to the program as a mentor, mentee, or both. You could set their eligibility here in the table and this column would note this change.

To set access for each user, you can search for their name within the search bar. Then, scroll over to the Set Access column in the table, click Set Eligibility, and choose the type of access they should have:

set_eligibility_for_user.png

For each user, you will have 5 different options to select from:

  • Make eligible as a mentee only
  • Make eligible as a mentor only
  • Make eligible as both a mentor and mentee
  • Make ineligible
  • or, to Reset their eligibility back to the default eligibility rules

If you need to set eligibility for multiple users, you can select each of them by clicking on the box beside their name in the table:

multiple_eligibility_select.png

Once you have selected each of your users, you will see a Perform Bulk Action on Selected button above the table. Click this button to assign the same access to all of your selected users. In my case, I will provide Mentee Only access to these three users:

bulk_assign_access.png

After you have assigned access to these users, you will see this reflected within the table:

updated_access_table.png

Once you're satisfied with your Advanced Access Settings, you may click the Save and Exit button to return to your program home page.

And that's it! You have successfully configured your Advanced Access Settings for your program. Only those who have access to the program as defined by these settings will be able to see and register for the program when they sign into Together.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request here or reach out to us at support@togetherplatform.com!

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.